The Awardees of the 2017 ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes Award

This bit of news and information is worth mentioning since there seems to be little mention of this on traditional and new media.

Ten biodiversity conservation advocates from varied sectors of society — the grassroots, government, academic, and business sectors — were awarded during the 2017 ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes Award. The ceremony was held last August 7, 2017 in Manila, Philippines as part of the celebration of ASEAN’s Golden Anniversary.

The ten recipients of the 2017 ASEAN Biodiversity — a program designed to recognized outstanding individuals from the Asean region who have given significantly to biodiversity advocacy efforts and biodiversity conservation were:

Mr. Eyad Samhan, Former Field Supervisor, Tasek Merimbun, Brunei Darussalam
For significant contributions to research on fauna and flora in Brunei and in the region

Mr. Sophea Chhin, Government Official, Department of Biodiversity, Cambodia For sparking interest in wildlife research among Cambodians

Mr. Alex Waisimon, Conservation worker, Indonesia For protecting Papua’s forests for future generations

Mr. Nitsavanh Louangkhot Pravongviengkham, President, Union Development Agricole Import-Export Public Company (UDA Farm), Lao PDR
For promoting environment-friendly agricultural production and protecting migratory species

Prof. Zakri Abdul Hamid, Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Malaysia, Malaysia For making a lasting impact on analysis and assessment of global biodiversity and ecosystem services

Dr. Maung Maung Kyi, Chairman, Rakhine Coastal Region Conservation Association, Myanmar
For effectively promoting community participation to conserve various habitats

Dr. Angel C. Alcala, Professor Emeritus, Silliman University, National Scientist, Philippines
For championing coastal resource management and terrestrial biodiversity conservation

Prof. Leo Tan Wee Hin, Professorial Fellow and Director (Special Projects), Faculty of Science, National University of Singapore — Source

For championing biodiversity outreach and education

Dr. Nonn Panitvong, Founder and Webmaster of
Thailand Biodiversity Conservation Group, Director, NakornPhet Sugar Limited and other companies

For raising public awareness of biodiversity through taxonomy

Prof. Dang Huy Huynh, Vice Chair, Viet Nam Association for Conservation of Nature
and Environment

For fostering the exchange of knowledge and solutions to conserve Viet Nam’s biodiversity

Links and end notes

ASEAN awards ten conservation advocates as biodiversity heroes. ASEAN.ORG. Date Accessed: August 25, 2017.

Ten conservation advocates receive 2017 ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes Award. Date Accessed: August 25, 2017

Ten conservation advocates receive 2017 ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes Award. European External Action Service. Date Accessed: August 25, 2017.

This entry was posted in News and Announcements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply